DPChallenge: A Digital Photography Contest You are not logged in. (log in or register

DPChallenge Forums >> Business of Photography >> weird email re my domain names
Showing posts 1 - 8 of 8, (reverse)
03/19/2018 12:03:05 AM · #1
Just got this email, and something doesn't sound right. Anyone have any thoughts?

1st email:
Dear Manager,

China registration institution confirmation letter, about johannasiegmann application for registration:

We are an agency engaging in registering brand name and domain names. Today, Our center received an application from ParMao Company and they apply to register johannasiegmann as their brand name and some top-level domain names(.CN .HK etc). We found the main body of domain names is same as your company name. I am not sure about the relationship between you and them. Please tell me whether or not your company authorizes them to register names.

We are dealing with the application and we need to confirm whether you have authorized them? If you don't authorize them, please reply me an e-mail. Looking forward to your reply.
I replied that my name was not up for sale. Then this:

2nd email
Thanks for your confirmation. As soon as receiving the application of ParMao Company , we checked and found "johannasiegmann" is your company's using name and brand. We are concerned that your brand name might be affected negatively by their applications, this is why we informed you. following Brand Name and domain names are applied by ParMao Company :

Brand Name:johannasiegmann
Domain Names:

You know that the domain names registration is open in the world, ParMao Company also has the right to apply for the available domain names. you only have the preferential rights to register them.We also are not very clear about why the company wants to register these domain names, but according to our work experience, either they just invest these domain names. Just like a company named Beijing national network information LLC registered google.cn & google.com.cn in 2005, and then they made lots of return from these two domain names. (Google Company failed to make a arbitration and paid 1 million USD dollars to redeem the two domain names.) Or they are just your trade, and confuse your clients to make profit.

At present, we haven't passed their application, we need your opinion. If your company considers these names are important to your company's business or interests, I suggest that your company register these names first, so as to avoid confusion or speculation. If you register, we will send you the detailed registration procedures and Application Contract. Of course, If you don't want to protect your intellectual property rights, then my suggestion is your company give up these names, so that we can finish registering for them as per our duty. In order to handle this issue better, please give me your company's decision as soon as possible.
03/19/2018 12:23:53 AM · #2
The company I work for receives similar email messages periodically. I have anyways assumed it was a scam and ignored them.
03/19/2018 12:28:50 AM · #3
It's a bogus scam email. They or someone in China sends these out all the time hoping to get a hit and an easy target. You should never have answered the first one, now they know who you are. In fact they may have already taken over your identity and it isn't really you posting this message but some Chinese clone pretending to be you. That smile on your icon does seem to be a bit bigger than normal.


03/19/2018 06:54:40 AM · #4
It’s a phishing scam. Ignore any further correspondence. Eventually (and sometimes in the first mail) there will be a link to click that will infect your computer with some sort of Trojan or ransomsware. Suggest you mark the sender as junk and then delete any further mails from your junk folder without opening them.
03/19/2018 09:04:44 AM · #5

Edit: That article quotes correspondence with the scammer, including some wording which is IDENTICAL to part of the email you received.

Message edited by author 2018-03-19 09:13:34.
03/19/2018 11:11:46 AM · #6
Thanks, guys.

No links, and nothing clicked.
03/20/2018 07:54:55 AM · #7

AI advances are allowing more bad things to be spawned than humans can catch.

You think this type of phishing is bad? Just wait until you can't tell if you are having a conversation with someone from your bank or a computer generated conversation where your adversary already knows almost everything they need...
03/30/2018 12:31:51 AM · #8
Originally posted by tanguera:

Thanks, guys.

However, if you would like to send a voluntary contribution of $1million US dollars to our Nigerian agent, Mr Prince, I am sure we could fix this outrageous error for you. :-)
Current Server Time: 07/05/2020 01:24:59 PM

Please log in or register to post to the forums.

Home - Challenges - Community - League - Photos - Cameras - Lenses - Learn - Prints! - Help - Terms of Use - Privacy - Top ^
DPChallenge, and website content and design, Copyright © 2001-2020 Challenging Technologies, LLC.
All digital photo copyrights belong to the photographers and may not be used without permission.
Proudly hosted by Sargasso Networks. Current Server Time: 07/05/2020 01:24:59 PM EDT.